• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
        Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Scouting

I had no idea that letting my son into the cub scouts was going to be sooooo expensive!  Ok, don’t start off saying that I’m dogging the scouts.  I most certainly am not.  If I didn’t like the scouts and what they stand for and how they help guide the boys, then I wouldn’t have let him sign up in the first place.

I was told right off the bat that it was going to cost $50.00 for his book, slide, neckerchief, soap box derby supplies, registration fee, insurance, campout, badges, and pins.  I thought “Great, this is a real deal!”  Then the meetings came with the news that I had to buy his shirt, patches, the camping supplies, and admittance fees for all events.  All of this is adding up quickly.  I thought this would be fun for the both of us.  He will be the one having the fun.  I will be the one going without something so that he can have all that fun.  Not that I mind going without anything for any of my kids.  But seriously if he wasn’t already so emotionally invested, I’d probally bail out.

I am truly stepping out of my comfort zone as it is. Understatement here: I don’t camp.  Camping should be done indoors with room service and a fireplace. Plus the first graders get to “camp” in the castle/fort while I have to sleep in a tent.  There is something so wrong about that.  Aren’t kids suppose to do the tents while the adults get to have some of the luxury?

So for all the complaining that I may do here; he will not hear any of it.  Why?  Well, why should I ruin what will be fun and great memories?  Not to mention he will be making some new friends.  I hope that the friendships he makes will last for a very long time.  Plus joining the scouts is truly for him; not me.  This is something that he has wanted for a few years.  I had waited in signing him up because I wanted to make sure he was ready to make the commitment.  This will be the year of scouting…..the first year.  The years ahead will be worth it when he smiles at me for the event or badge along the way.  It has been so far.

 

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

