• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
        Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

The Vows We Take

Just who are you married to?

For those of you who may not know, my marriage to my husband I hold in high regard. If anyone were to attack it, in any way, shape, or form, I would diffidently go for the kill. However, I have another marriage that holds more importance than that I have with my husband. The vows that I have made to God are above all other vows I have made.  I can not imagine my life without my marriage to Him.  Well, to be honest, there have been times in my life when I had left him.  I didn’t realize it at the time.  It wasn’t as though I no longer believed in Him.  Or in all that He is, or does, or will do.  But I was not following the way I should have been.  I was not committed in every aspect of my life.  I still have trouble with it at times.  I only know of one person who didn’t have trouble with it; Jesus.

I go throughout my day trying to get things done with God in mind of it all.  But by the end of the day, when I am going over everything that has happened, I find mistakes, slips, miss ups.  During this time, asking for forgiveness in prayer is the only way to find peace with it.  I have said several times that I have control issues.  Quite honestly, I think everyone does in certain aspects of their lives.  I do think that whether we realize it or not, we have “I am god of myself” syndrome in different aspects of our life. We get up and take care of ourselves before we even thank God for a new day.  We eat without remembering that He supplies our food.  We work without knowing the abilities that was given to us or why. We go to bed without realizing the trust of protection around us.

As we grow up, and as we have children, we have been taught and we teach (At least I hope you are teaching) manners.  One main one is saying Thank You.  When someone does something nice for you, do you not feel better when you thank that person?  I know that I certainly do. Because I want that person to know that I appreciated them.  I also love it when I get a thank you.  Don’t you?  But unfortunately, not everyone even thinks to say it, even after the fact.

Are we not showing that we take for granted all that is freely given to us?  We should seriously think and rethink about whether or not we are giving 100% to God.  Remember, marriage is 100/100.  It is not, well if I remember or feel like it, I’ll give……maybe.  There are those who will only do something if they see something that they can gain from doing it.  Instead of realizing that they have already received the greatest gift.  The gift of salvation.  Not only when we take the time to pray, we should come to Him with a humble attitude.  But all throughout the day.  Look around at the splendor.  God has graciously shown you his love all around.  Circumstances should not be what drives you to do anything.  Circumstances change everyday, along with your attitude in dealing with them.  God’s love never changes.  We may only be blessed with a deeper understanding of it. How strong are your vows to God?  When you said yes to Him, did you say yes to all that He has to offer?  We are to look to the treasure that we gather in Heaven and not the corruptible items or ideas of this world.

There are many people who re-new their vows after being married for so many years.  Some go all out and have all the bells and whistles that they did the first time that they got married.  Others, keep things quite and simple. Now matter which way people go about it, with whistles, simple or maybe somewhere in between the words they exchange never change. Although Gods never needs to re-new any vows to us, maybe it is time to think about renewing ours to Him.  Ask yourself, “Am I truly in a marriage with God?”  He waits patiently for us and while He waits, He still makes your days, gives you abilities, supplies, and protects.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

