• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
        Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Are You Really Listening?

Pastor and I were talking the other day, when the subject of phone apps. came up.  He had told me that he has an app. that can read out loud to him the Bible.  He was expressing his delight with it, and I agree it is a wonder.  Your spirit gets fed when it hears His word.  If you can just let go of thoughts in your mind and allow the word to enter into you, something wonderful happens.

It used to be that people could only hear the word when they attended church on Sunday mornings.  Now-a-days, we have t.v. channels full of preachers speaking the word everyday of the week, at any time of the day.  We also have great little gadgets where we can hear it.  Like our computers, Cd’s, I-pods, mp3 players, smart-phones. We can download the entire Bible, many sermons, and even conferences. Which gives us more accessibility to understanding His word. I have heard people saying that they don’t like the voice of the reader, or speaker, for whatever reason. Whether it’s a woman’s voice and not a man’s, his voice is too low, he talks too fast, he’s hard to understand.  Now, I do know that there is to be physical application to the word.  But unless it is put first into your spirit so that it can be transformed into physical application, you won’t really hear it. Just having it in your ear and head isn’t enough.  Ezekiel 3:10 Moreover He said to me: “Son of man, receive into your heart all My words that I speak to you, and hear with your ears. When you listen with your heart, it should be God’s voice you hear and not the person’s. 

As I was talking to Pastor, I had mentioned that I love it when one is able to speak the word, one really hears it, and they get to converse about it. And it doesn’t matter if it is one on one, or one to a group. For it is then that the Spirit has an opportunity to move. Matthew 18:20 For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them.The excitement of it all can be like a child watching fireworks go off. Or like the thrill one gets when riding a roller coaster. The more we spoke, the more my spirit was getting joyous.  I have a hard time containing myself when I get like that. I have to grab a hold of something, look away a few times, take in deep breaths. My spirit wants to go into worship mode immediately, and I get saturated with His love all over me. I can find myself lost in praise to Him.  It was then, when Pastor quoted to me, Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. He was affirming and emphasizing the power of the word, and that it must be vocal to be heard. I know a lot of people(I happen to be one. Maybe you are too.), who read the Bible out loud. I do it because I want His word to be branded on my spirit.  When I speak it, rather than just reading, it gets in a little deeper.  Say something enough times, and it becomes a part of you……….your belief…..your faith.  It marks you with His wisdom.  You won’t be able to do anything without hearing Him.  So listen…..because the Lord is speaking.

Do you use any of the devices listed above?  If so, which one do you use most often?  What about it do you like the most? Where do you listen to them?

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

