• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
        Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

The Season Is Here

Have you been noticing the different color gems that are coming?

My birthstone is emerald.  When I was younger, I loved that it was.  I would look at all the others and think to myself, “I have the most beautiful birthstone out of all of them.”  I thought that it was so cool just how deep of a color it was.  I thought it sparkled even more than a diamond.  It would make me happy just looking at one. I would cherish my emerald-green crayon. As I grew, however, my feelings about the gem changed.  I had started to see that there were different shades of emeralds.  I realized this when I started looking at different kinds of emerald trees (Evergreens).  When one tree didn’t look a dark shade and I was told that it was an emerald color, I became disappointed.  I just couldn’t understand how it was that a tree with such a light shade of green could be called emerald.  Then I discovered that emeralds had black marks within them.  This just totally shocked me.  I would question how something so beautiful, could have imperfections.  As I grew, time would come around every year for Christmas.  All I would see, was white, red and green.  But it wasn’t just any green, it was emerald-green.  I had the attitude of, “Great, now that everybody is using it, it’s no longer that special for me.”

As I became an adult, my perspective changed yet again.  I had read in the book of Revelation about the city that God has for us.  The foundations of the wall of the city were adorned with all kinds of precious stones: the first foundation was jasper, the second sapphire, the third chalcedony, the fourth emerald,  Revelation 21:19.  Wow, God uses emeralds to make the city walls.  This was something that never occurred to me.  That God would find them gems worthy of the foundation. A foundation to anything is important.  Whether it is dealing with a new relationship, or building a house.  If there is a crack in the foundation, the whole thing could crumble.  I came to understand that God has shared, not just the emerald, but all of the gems with us here, just so we could understand their place in heaven.  And that, how special each gem is for everyone

As I get deeper into His word, I look deeper into the earth.  I like to go back to the trees.  I can see that not only are there emerald color trees and leaves, but that during a very special time of the year we get to see all of the others.  I have said several times that fall is my favorite season.  This is just another reason why. The gems show their self during this time.  All the different shades of reds, yellows, browns, oranges.  The rain comes through allowing them to sparkle in the morning sun.  They blow around with the wind as kids gather them up to play in.  People press them in wax paper, with a picture of a fun day.  Poems are made describing their beauty.  We have paintings and statues depicting their details of shades within shades.  They help the animals play hide and seek.  They nourish the earth. When you look at the gems this season, whether they are hanging on grouped together like in a kaleidoscope, or blowing around like confetti, remember what they represent.  And enjoy the wondrous beauty Autumn!

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

