Treasure

Treasure: One person or thing considered especially precious or valuable.

Look around you.  Ask yourself, what do you consider to be a treasure to you.  There are those who will automatically say their children, their husband, their family.  Some might say their health.  Others will point out little nick knacks that they have collected over the years.

Luke 12:34 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  So in whatever you hold dear, is a treasure.  We all have people or things that we nourish and take care of because they mean so much to us.

I know of some people that treasure photos of family and friends.  They place them in nicely decorated frames or albums.  Some even scrapbook them in order to allow more meaning or understanding to the picture.  They place them all around the house to show them off to others that visit.  If you were to take away those photos, some people might be devastated.  It is a tangible way to remember an event in their lives, that holds a special meaning for them.

Journaling is getting widely popular.  To be able to write down your daily activities and express in your own words how things affect you or those around you.  Some people keep their journals for their whole lifetime.  They go through the years past and read about experiences they have gone through.  Maybe seeing how they have changed over the years or how someone close to them has.  This is just another tangible way of remembering.  

Memories are a treasure for almost everyone.  The experiences that you have with your children, your spouse, your family, the collection of nick knacks, photos, journals…etc, is what makes them a treasure.  Matthew 6: 20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth or rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  Some might find this hard to understand, but when you put down the things you treasure here on earth, your focus gathers onto the treasures in heaven.  For your heart will be guided there with Him and by Him.  Deuteronomy 30:6 And the Lord your God will circumcise your heart and the heart of your descendants, to love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, that you may live.

Now, I simply adore my husband. I do treasure the relationship that I have with him.  Because I know that he is a gift from God for me. I would lay down my life for him if need be.  But he does understand that I will not let my love for him stand in the way of my love for God.  My love for God is a greater treasure than I can express. And I am more than will to sacrifice anything to keep myself in that love. Because of my husband’s understanding of this, it makes me love him even more. Confused yet?  Not to those who experience it.  Proverbs 27:19 As in water face reflects face, So a man’s heart reveals the man.  I expect my husband to know that I understand the same for him.  

Idol: Something visible but without substance.  Once you find yourself (your heart) looking toward God and His glory the things of this earth take on different priorities and meanings for you. Watch that you don’t make idols of anything or any person.   Matthew 6:24 No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other You cannot serve God and mammon.  Mammon: Riches, avarice, and worldly gain personified as a false god.  If you find that you are making something or someone of higher importance, you are making it/them into an idol for you.  A false God.  The question remains…….What do you treasure?

2 Responses

  1. Wow Tonya you put words into perspective like no one I have ever read before. You know the Word and live by that Word. Amen to you Sister. You are a woman to be admired. Thanks for sharing. Sue

  2. Sue, your making me blush. I am so pleased that you found some inspiration in my writing. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

