What Fear Do You Have?

And His mercy is on those who fear Him From generation to generation. Luke 1:50

What do you fear? Fear has different meanings.  How you use it, is of the utmost importance. Fear can be a strong driving force in a person’s life.  It can have a hold of a person so much that it controls their every move or thought.  Fear can causes anxiety and obsession.  Fear can also be given in awe.  It can show that you have great reverence toward God.

Have you ever taken the time to watch and understand what people fear?  They stop themselves from truly living for fear of what they don’t know or understand.  It can hinder the enjoyment of everyone around them.  There are all kinds of phobias out there. And there are all kinds of people who have them.  I know a lot of people who are afraid of spiders.  If they even hear about spiders, they start to sweat and shrink inside themselves.  They will do everything that they possibly can to not have to be near, or hear about them.  The fear of the spider has just gained control of where they go and what conversations they have.There are people who are afraid of heights.  I have read stories that have described some people so afraid that they can’t even go on the second floor of any building.  The anxiety of what might happen to them holds them hostage to it.  Controlling where they go and who they can visit.  Their fear cuts them out of aspects of life.

These fears can lead into worry, guilt, and destruction.  Such intimidation should not be tolerated in one’s life.  Psalm 34:4 I sought the Lord, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears.  Understanding and trusting in the Lord to take care of everything that comes against you can at times, seem impossible.  When I learned that my son has lesions on his brain, I went into complete craziness.  For I allowed the fear of what it might mean for him to consume me.  But knowing that I have a savior who has already fought and won over all evil, brought me peace.  When I laid down all trouble and worry that I was having over him, God pulled me in closer to Him and gave me comfort.  Because He was so gracious in doing this, I fear Him even more.  God shows us His awesome mercy and grace every day.  That alone should be enough to fear him.  But He does so much more.  He has allowed Jesus to conquer all that will come against me.  That includes the spirit of fear.  2 Timothy 1:7 For god has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.  

To hold your faith in the fear of God will allow you to grow deeper in His love.  Psalm 147:11 The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear Him, In those who hope in His mercy.  To hold your faith in fear………… is allowing yourself to die.

4 Responses

  1. Your picture of Christ is amazing. I have been working on a novel and unsure of whether to proceed or not. Not only did the topic of your post, fear, grab my attention, because fear is part of my hesitancy to continue, but one portion of the story deals with the Lion of Judah, which you have so beautifully depicted.

    God works through others, and He used you to tell me what He wants me to do: not to be afraid and continue.

    Besides that, your post hits home. I’ve spent too much of my life afraid. Afraid of what might happen, afraid of what others might think, and afraid of too many other things. You are right, the Fear of God brings peace.

  2. Thank you Cecilia for your out pour of kind words. I am so thrilled that you were able to hear God speaking to you. I am so glad that you have decided to rely on God for you peace in continuing your novel. It sounds as though He is the one who placed the novel on your heart when you started. Never fear that it won’t be good enough or that you are equipped enough. He will guide you through. So write girl, write. I can’t wait to read it.

  3. […] more people don’t have that same experience.  They have their blinders on and hold back for a fear that they might have if they let go.  It is such a wonderful experience when you find someone who […]

  4. This is very good! You have several good pionts that just make it even more obvious. We should all be aware of this and most of us are aware of it and just choose to ignore it.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

