Humility Leads To Confidence

I know where I stand with God.  I don’t deserve his love and mercy and yet I am allowed to sit at His feet.

Is that statement too bold for you?  Confidence is something that I have never lacked.  My confidence has been built up since I was little. It has also been knocked down a time or two. For example, when you’re picked on as a child, you can either stand up for your self or you can shrink up within.  When I was younger I had confidence in myself, my family, my friends, etc.  As I grew though, things started to change.

As I was growing up, I had been told that I was very smart.  And at some point I started to believe it.  I had an exaggerated view of my intelligence.  I could hold my own on anything the books could teach me.  However, I wasn’t so savvy on the social scale.  But I didn’t let that stop me from feeling that I was the authority on every thing.

I had always thought that my parents knew the way life was to be lived.  They each had their own strengths and weaknesses and supported one another.  That was until my parents divorced.  The things that came out of the divorce shocked my world.  I found out that I really didn’t know them at all.  I caved within myself trying to hide from the truth that came out of it.

The confidence that I have now is no longer me, or my family, or friends.  But within the one who is worthy of it.  He has given a way to be saved.  He showers me with blessings.  He listens all the time.  He speaks all the time.  He leads my path to Him.  He will never leave me or forsake me. God has given me the best.  In all of and more, I can have confidence.  Hebrews 3:14 For we have become partakers of Christ if we hold the beginning of our confidence steadfast to the end,  

But to first obtain this confidence I had to humble myself. To realize that I am a sinner.  And that no matter how hard I try to be good and do my best; it doesn’t change the fact that I am still a sinner.  No better or worse than anyone else. I had to get off the high horse I was riding around town for all to see. I had to understand that I have no power or control except through Christ. I had to understand that my life had nothing to do with what I thought of myself.  It had to do with what God thought of me.  James 4:10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord and He will lift you up.  I had spent a lot of my life relying on my knowledge and abilities instead of realizing that it was God who had given them to me in the first place.  In coming to that belief, I can walk with a little strut, a little groove, in the humiliation that I bring in the confidence of God.

4 Responses

  1. Tonya this is a beautiful post. Big Hugs!!!!

  2. Some people say that difficulty brings awareness, you’ve said as much in this post. Thanks for being both bold and humble to share this truth. Visiting from Katherine’s hop.

  3. Hello Katherine, thank you so much for stopping by. Your site is so pretty and I love the music. I do hope you are feeling well.

  4. Thank you for visiting from Katherine’s. I do hope that you stop by again. I love your post of the word search. I’ll have to try one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

