Why We Don’t

As much as I love this time of season, there is one particular aspect of it that I truly don’t like.  Ok, so here I go…..halloween.  Please hear me out before you up and leave.

As a child I went trick or treating every year.  My dad would love to take me, my brother, and sister.  The challenge we would place on ourselves was to see just how many houses we could get to within the allotted time that was given.  More houses meant more candy. My dad had a plan through every neighborhood. It seems that every year we would add a whole block or two than the year before.  We would walk as fast and as far as our little legs would take us.  The only downside to it all was the long walk back.  The outfits we wore were generally “neutral”.  One of us might dress in a witch costume, but there was never anything gory or gross.  For me, it was fun.  I only saw that I was allowed to dress up, get candy, and spend time with dad.

When Joe and I got married, we never discussed whether there should be an issue with halloween.  When the kids got big enough, we took them out.  They dressed as robots, a lion, a princess etc.  The kids had a good time and I enjoyed remembering my childhood.  Then one day that changed.

I came across an article that told the history of halloween.  After reading it, I decided that I wasn’t going to let just one article determine choice.  So I did a lot of research of the history of halloween myself.  Sure enough the original article was dead on.  Here is a site where you can read some information for yourself. http://halloweenhistory.org/ Joe and I had talked a lot about the decision we were about to make.  It isn’t always easy to not allow your children to enjoy something.  Although we knew that it was the right decision for us, we didn’t want to hurt their feelings and have them also feeling left out of what everyone else was doing.  We then decided that we would have a huge family fun night when halloween came around.  We get movies of their picking, buy candy of their picking, load up on popcorn and soda, play a board game, stay up a little longer than normal bedtime, and have a ball!  All four of our kids look forward to it every year.   We have had no complaining about not participating in halloween from the kids.  And as they grow we explain a little more and more for the reasons we don’t.

Reason 1:  Although most people don’t practice the beliefs that halloween started with, there are still some that do.  They crawl out of their dark cracks of the world and boast around as if they are all-powerful and mighty.  They do this with the false knowledge that they are safe and that people are more accepting of them during this time of year.  Please don’t think that I am being too extreme.  There are a number of cults out there.  You have those who are into voodoo, witch craft, vampires, and many more.  All of which, the main stream media has glamorize.

Reason 2:  Every year stories are heard all around the country about something dangerous being put into the treats that the kids are being given.  When I was a child they put straight pins or razor blades in the candy. This is the reason that my parents would look over every single piece before we were allowed to have any.  Now I hear of different kinds of drugs that are handed out right, because they look like candy. Or the candy is laced with it.  Then you have the stories about a child getting lost, or worse kidnapped. I remember one year it seemed as if the whole town was on alert.  There was a scare from a white supremacy group looking for blond hair boys.   Safety is always major importance at our house.

Reason 3:  The reason halloween started.  We do not believe in ghost and goblins.  But we do believe in evil spirits.  We will not be associated with them.  Just because people may not see any harm in dressing up, evil spirits really don’t care if you believe or not.  By participating you are seen as vulnerable, with your full armor of God off, and replaced with a costume.  When you look at the history of anything you are looking at the foundation of it.  Remember, that foundations keep things strong and standing.  If I were to look at the history of the Bible, and say well we don’t practice on the basis of it, or that it doesn’t apply for today, then how on earth could I stand next to Jesus?  Or what if I just picked and chose what parts of the Bible I wanted to practice.  Would I not be a hypocrite about the gospel?  Yet, there are people who do the very same with halloween.  “Well we dress up, but we don’t practice all the history of halloween.”

Reason 4:  God said don’t! Deuteronomy 18:10 There shall not be found among you anyone who makes his son or his daughter pass through the fire, or one who practices witchcraft or a soothsayer, or one who interprets omens, or a sorcerer, or one who conjures spells, or a medium, or a spiritist, or one who calls up the dead.  For all who do these things are an abomination to the Lord, and because of these abominations the Lord your God drives them out from before you.   Leviticus 20:27 A man or a woman who is a medium, or who has familiar spirits, shall surely be put to death; they shall stone them with stones.  Their blood shall be upon them.” Exodus 22:18 “You shall not permit a sorceress to live.  Would you not say that these are very strong words on the subject? There are several scriptures that tell us not to have anything to do with this evil.  If I am not to have anything to do with it, then why would I place my children in it?  God’s word should be enough to stand alone on this subject.  But we still have people who like to twist the words so that the meaning doesn’t apply to them.  This is how they get “an out”.

Long post? Yes.  But was it enough to make you (those that still go out for halloween) rethink your reasonings for it?

3 Responses

  1. What a great post (sent by Ruby for Women)! I was raised in a family that did not celebrate Halloween. Though many people think it “squashed” my imagination, I turned out to be a quite vivid English major! Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. Thanks for stopping by Sarah. I love the ladies from Ruby for Women. English Major!?! You probably see all kinds of mistakes on my post! LOL!

  3. Not only am I agreeing with you because I’m your son, but you prove a good point especialy on reason 4.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

