What My Eyes See

There are very few shows on T.V. that I enjoy watching.  Which is quite different from when I was little.  I spent a great deal of time in front of the television.  I would even stand there and recite all the commercials word for word.  Television is meant to be a form of entertainment and not a life style.  My hubby and I have set rules to watching for our kids.  Most of the shows out there are not what we would consider as entertaining.  More like dumbing down the way of thinking so that they can have more of an influence over you, all the while making you feel as though it is your idea or way of thinking.  Over the years, when I’ve talked to people about the shows they watch it is amazes me the things they allow in their eyes and ears.

A lot of parents know that they need to monitor what their children watch.  However, there are a lot who will give in to their children’s pressure or the idea that there is nothing else for them to watch.  Therefore allowing them to watch shows that they know that aren’t of any real form of entertainment but out of appeasement.   I think the thing that confuses me the most are the shows that gain popularity solely based on their stupidity.  I’ve heard people say that they DVR a show so that they won’t have to worry about the kids seeing it.  There by admitting that it isn’t appropriate for a general audience.  As if, you’re protecting them.  They don’t stop to think that if the children of the house need protection from such shows then they also need protection from them. They wouldn’t allow a naked person to stand in their living room and yet allow a naked (or half-naked) person to appear on their screens.  They know that shooting and stealing is wrong and yet “enjoy” watching it on t.v.  People work hard on having a good reputation of being a good parent and yet kick back and watch the media put parenting down every way possible and laugh about it.  The main excuse I hear is the fact that it is only pretend and not real life.  Which should be reevaluated by some, considering that a lot of shows are now based real events that have happened in the world.  Proverbs 27:20 Hell and Destruction are never full; So the eyes of man are never satisfied.

This doesn’t even cover the commercials.  Where you are told what to buy, where to buy, how much to buy, etc. Psalm 73:7 Their eyes bulge with abundance; They have more than heart could wish.  And in between those you have advertisements for other shows to watch.  Most of them promoting sex and violence in one form or another.  I use to watch Dancing With The Stars.  I found it interesting how people from different areas of the media would learn how to dance and improve on this skill.  However, I stopped watching this last season when they announced that a “transgender” was going to be on.  That life style is against my beliefs.  Therefore, I could not promote it by watching.  This was a show that I could even allow my kids to watch.  Even though the “celebs” were not always people that I watched on another show or even knew, the show itself was acceptable for my family.  When it went against our beliefs, and held that lifestyle up as if it’s ok, then I stopped.  I actually did a double take on the shows that we do watch.  I wanted to make sure that there wasn’t anything that I would be ashamed of being on the t.v. if I had company in my house or young children.  Because of this decision I have been called a “hater”.  Ok, I can live with that.  Names don’t bother me as long as they don’t bother my kids.  I don’t hate by the way.  I don’t have faith in that lifestyle.  It is not of God to live that way.  Because He doesn’t accept it neither do I.  This doesn’t mean I hate the person.  And I only bring up this show as an example because it is the most resent of the shows that I have stopped watching.  I didn’t need a poll of people to tell me what was right or wrong, just God.  There is a saying, “Your eyes are the gateway to your soul.”  Meaning that whatever you place your eyes upon you also place it upon your soul.  Ask yourself this question:  What makes it ok for me to watch and not a child?  If you have maturity and understanding of something that is wrong, then wouldn’t you have the maturity and understanding of not permitting that anywhere in your life?  When we fix our eyes on God, does it mean that we turn Him off when we turn on the t.v.?

2 Responses

  1. I’m with you…too much bad stuff, not enough soul enriching things on TV or in the movies nowadays. I am blog hopping & following you from Katherine’s Corner. Pls follow back. Growing Old With Grace http://growing-old-with-grace.blogspot.com/

  2. Thank you for visiting! Katie only has the best ppl on her blog hops.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

