Call Me Strange Please!

“When you’re strange faces come out of the rain.  When you’re strange no one remembers your name.  When you’re strange, when you’re strange. When you’re strange.  ……..The Doors.

 Strange: Unusual; odd.  Are you strange?  As a Christian, interacting with people can at times be difficult.  As a child I use to think that there were some pretty strange people out there.  Now that I am older, I know that there are some pretty strange people out there.  The only difference is I hope to be one of them.  I would love to know that there are people who look at or listen to me and say, “What is it about her? She is so different, strange.”

I don’t try to be so “educated” that people feel intimated by be.  I don’t try to be so “theological” that people feel as if I am a know-it-all.  I don’t try to keep a distance from people so that people feel as if I’m unapproachable.  I don’t try to shine a light on me so that people think I want all the attention.  But what I do try to do is show the passion (Passion: Any very strong emotion) that I have for Christ and the passion that He has for me.  When I speak to people about Christ, my spirit gets so lifted that it is as if I am on a “high”.  I find it “strange” that more people don’t have that same experience.  They have their blinders on and hold back for a fear that they might have if they let go.  It is such a wonderful experience when you find someone who has such an intense connection with God.  Matthew 18:20  For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them.” When you can start off having a conversation about anything and it leads into worship without any prompting from anyone or anything else.

How sad it is when I read articles or hear conversation about how weak Christians are; from other Christians.  The conflicts from within the churches and its surrounding community.  The complaining that goes on pinning Christian against Christian.  The stories go on and on about how it is that “we” don’t stand together. Philippians 2:14,15  Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world,   God is the God to all.  He didn’t say your way was right or that the other person’s way was right. Ezekiel 13:3  Thus says the Lord God: “Woe to the foolish prophets, who follow their own spirit and have seen nothing!  No, He said His way was right.  Jesus said to follow Him. Matthew 16:24   Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. 

People, yes including Christians, seem to still believe that they have the only way to live.  The disciples themselves argued about how and when to do things in the pursuit of following Jesus. If people are truly worshiping God through His Son Jesus, then what does it really matter if it is the same way as your own way of worshiping?  Remembering that God likes variety, it can be very easy for me to see how different people worship God through His Son Jesus.  When we will concentrate on our own individual spiritual growth and stop worrying about how others do it, we open the door for the Holy Spirit to fill us with God’s love.  Your life in going all out for Jesus is to be the enticement for others.     When they see Christ in you, the strangeness of your life compared to the world; that is when the Holy Spirit goes to work in their live.  My mom use to tell me all the time, “Stop worrying about others and start worrying about yourself.”  Now, I don’t condone “worrying”, but I do see when I stop focusing on what I consider as faults of others and apply that focus on to myself, it frees me to worship with more passion.  This prayer I leave with you, Galatians 6: 18  Brethren, the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

