Whose Are You Going By?

How committed are you?  Do you stand on the standards of God? Or do you only go by the ones that you like?  Are you one of those people who make up your own as the situations come in front of you?  I find myself in a state of confusion when I hear people talk about doing something that they know in their heart is in difference to God’s word.  The reasons (excuses), which they use, when you step back and look at them closely, are for self-gain.  I find that there are a lot of people who hide behind others in order to give the appearance that it’s fine for them to do what it is that they are doing.  This is done so that they are not inconvenienced, or have a sense of guilt when they see that person(s) again.  They do it so that they “fit in” at the office, to not make waves with family members, so that the children will be happy, get followers on their blog, etc.  What they are really doing is going alone with the world and not with God.  This doesn’t mean that God doesn’t want you to fit in, smooth sailing with the family, or happy children.  He absolutely does.  However, He wants all those things with Him and for His glory.  God doesn’t want His people to give lip service.  You will be a hypocrite.  Stating one thing to this group of people, and then stating something altogether different to another group.  God is universal.  His standards have been laid out for us.  There have been times that I have heard people say, “God is a mystery.  Therefore we are not to know everything.” I do agree that God knows that we should not know everything and has, with His wisdom, hidden it from us.  But what they are alluding to is that we are not to understand His standards.  However, if that were a true statement, then why do millions…..no, billions of people study the word?  Do you believe that God has universal standards for all or just for those who choose to live by them?  Just how much authority do we think we have of our lives?   1 Corinthians 9:18  What is my reward then?  That when I preach the gospel, I may present the gospel of Christ without charge, that I may not abuse my authority in the gospel.

A great gift that God has given us is the power to choose.  He has allowed us to be able to choose every single thing that we do or don’t do.  I get to choose if I get out of bed, whether or not I get dressed, what I want to eat, what I teach my children, whether to follow His Son or not, to obey His commands and so on.  God does not push Himself on anyone.  He has laid out His word, given people warnings, given people blessings, and sacrificed His only Son so that we will see His love for us.  And yet, people go about their own day as if they only have to obey God when they are around other Christians.  How might your day look if you saw everyone as a Christian?  Chew on that for a moment.  If you treated every person, you laid your eyes on, as a Christian (whether they are or not).  Do you think that it would be any easier to follow the commands of God?  I do understand that there are some who truly don’t know what is acceptable to God.  For those and for those who do know, I would like to remind you that if you question it; no matter how big or small something might appear to be, look it up.  If you need guidance as to something that is going on in your life, then do as the Bereans.  Acts 17:11  These were more fair-minded than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness, and searched the Scriptures daily to find out whether these things were so.  If you choose to do something simply because, and you don’t have Biblical backing for it, do you really think that it is not against God?  I use standards every time I write anything, and even though my blog is called My Perspective, it isn’t the one that counts.   For every time I write it is His standards that move my fingers.

3 Responses

  1. Very inspirational and makes the reader reflect. I work hard at doing what is right in the sight of God. My Christian faith has been taking me through a very challenging time since the death of my identical twin. I am a new Follower of your Blog. I learnt about it from Katherine Corner’s Thursday Favourite Things Blog Hop. Take care and God Bless.

  2. Judy, thank you so much for hopping over. I look forward to reading your posts as well. Dealing with death is always challenging. I can not imagine what it would be like for a twin. I pray that you are finding some peace with it.

  3. Yes, you are absolutely right. It is my His standards all things should be measured. If He was rejected by the world, so will we be, and we had better get used to the idea. Better to be rejected here and now, than later at the Gates of Paradise. Now, after saying those tough words, I fight the temptation to compromise every single day, and rely on Him to provide the strength to resist. Great post, words much needed in our current society bent on doing whatever feels good at the time.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

