Today’s Music?

This is a guess post from my daughter, Sierra.  I had asked her if she thought it would be fun and she agreed. So give her your full attention. Because you might be surprised to hear what a teen of today has to say.  But I must also put it out there that in no way did I tell her what to write.  I only gave her the subject matter.  She did the rest.  Which was kind of fun watching her write.  She kept asking me if this or that was ok.  I gave her full reign.  This is what she has to say.

Today’s music is loud, annoying, and disrespectful. Teens who hear this sentence think,”Oh that’s just some old biddy who likes stupid violins and opera.” Truth is, not all of the music is like that; so ‘black and white’; one-way or another. However, the Lil’ Wayne, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, the heavy metal, all the hip-hop and rap that is the popular music of today, is definitely loud, annoying at times, and very disrespectful. Oh, and guess what. I’m not “some old biddy”. I am 14; definitely a teenager, but one who sees how the majority of teenagers disrespect their elders. And I see that it comes from the music they listen to.

        Some of the pop music I do listen to. Not all of it is rude and disrespectful, so I do listen to it. I also listen to country and Christian music. Christian music is a music I enjoy, respect, and it inspires me. Third Day, Newsboys, Thousand Foot Krutch, Kutless, Jeremy camp, Toby Mac, KJ52, and Sanctus Real are the bands and people who inspire me most. They show me that you can have music that is fun to sing and fun to dance to without being disrespectful or rude to anyone. People have told me that you can’t dance to music that isn’t “popular”. These weren’t their exact words, but it’s the message they conveyed. But I can honestly say I was astounded. The majority of what I listen to is Christian, (which is less than popular for kids my age) and I am all the time dancing to it. My friends see this and yet, they still say this. It is truly amazing music, and if everyone would actually listen and hear it, I believe, people would be respected more by the current generation.

        As I said before, I also listen to country music. Taylor Swift, Jason Aldean, Tim McGraw, and Brad Paisley are some artists I listen to and enjoy very much. I feel as though this music does not disrespect anyone because country singers are singing about problems faced every day, and the joys that come along in life. In the music I’ve listened to, neither Christian nor country music uses curse words, especially not in the way that pop music does. There are no derogatory terms toward any race, religion, or gender in my choices of country either (unlike in the popular music of today). It is simply people singing the truth of their lives.

        So today’s music is not all bad. The pop music needs checked so it stays appropriate for the youth of today. The “unpopular” music needs to be put out there more so people can see how music can be appropriate and fun. People need to be steered in the right direction, which is in the opposite direction of where music is leading them today.

3 Responses

  1. Music is huge! What we listen to and sing in our minds and hum throughout the day makes us, in part, who we are. A great article, Sierra! By the way, I am an old guy and I shake it…that’s right…shake it to the Newsboys too! We are all blessed by the range and number of Christian bands singing and testifying in the world of rock…it wasn’t always like that…it used to be very difficult to find a good band with a good message back in the day. I hope more and more teenagers discover how awesome Christian rock really is…thanks for top-notch post.

  2. Great points, Sierra! You sound like a very mature 14 year old. I hope your faith and attitude eventually rub off on others your age. Great post.

  3. Very true Sierra!!! Love that you are not afraid to stand your ground and go with the crowd like most kids do. I am very proud that you are my neice!!!

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

