• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • December 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Why Would You Send This?

If any of you follow me either on twitter or facebook you might have noticed the stories that I post are not always heartwarming or upbeat.  I have sent some stories to family and friends either from national or local news.  The question that I am almost always asked is “Why would you send me something like that?!”  Usually it is followed by,” I don’t want to read something like that.”  Well hey guess what, I don’t either.  Which is why I send them.  When I read a story about a family losing their home or a child who is beaten (for no good reason, I might add.)  This is when my heart falls into pieces and I would love for prayers to go out to them.  Not only for the one(s) who has had something awful happen to them, but for all of the people involved.  Yes, even the one who did the awful thing.  Even more so for them.  Because they are the lost.  Lost from the One who Loves them more than they or you and I could ever know.  It does not make me happy to send or post a story about a woman who was raped, a child who is now in the hospital because of a drive-by shooting, or a husband who has to raise a family on his own now that his wife has suddenly died for whatever reason.  It does make me happy that a thought is being sent out to those who can actually pray or maybe seek out these people and lend a hand to them.

I have heard people say many times, I don’t know what to pray for.  Or, I pray for the world as a whole.  When I have been in need, I have found so much comfort when people have told me that they were praying for me and my family.  Not,” Well I was praying for all the people who have gone through……”  My oldest son had told me of a question that was asked on his SAT’s.  “Does something that happens to someone you don’t know affect you?”  My answer is a flat YES!  These are family members.  Whether I personally know them or not. It shouldn’t matter if they live down the street or on the other side of the world.  I would hope that others would see me as the same.  There are lessons to be learned from the stories the news tells.  You might not learn it today.  But hopefully, it will allow your heart to be more open and understanding to others around you tomorrow. I don’t want to read the news, post, magazine, watch the t.v. or hear on the radio, a story and go,”Well that too bad.  It’s so sad,”  and then do nothing else.  Before you know it, nothing will affect you, because it didn’t happen to you.  But you will be wanting others to sympathies and do for you.  All the while your heart will be hardening because you don’t feel like anyone is helping in any way, shape, or form.

This is one of those “do unto others” messages that I would hope that I am able to teach my kids and set an example for others.  There were plenty of families over Christmas that were unable for one reason or another to be together or who were living literally on the streets, in the hospital, jail.  For those of us who were able to be with family over Christmas, count that blessing before you go to sleep tonight and every night after.  Even if you had to spend it with someone who is very hard to love, let alone like.  I am quite sure that there are times that I am very hard to love or like.  So I am grateful that I have people who would want me around during any occasion.  With the new year fast approaching I pray that we all find the time to pray a little more not only for those that we know and love but for those that find torment (no matter what form it is in) beating them down.

2 Responses

  1. Very good point, Tonya. I have several acquaintances that chose to live in a protected shell, distanced from any bad news or suffering. Their world isn’t real, and someday it will shatter around them and they will be unable to cope. Those of us who have been through the fire, or are still in it, can and should offer encouragement and hope to others. Our suffering gives us the knowledge and experience necessary to offer comfort to others. A soul who has endured suffering has a great depth for compassion. I pray for those in need, both the named and the unnamed, and I pray for those wrapped in their own world with closed shutters. Great post, Tonya.

  2. Thank you Cecilia, you always have such sweet things to say. I do hope that it might help if even in a small way to open the eyes and hearts of people.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

