• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • January 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

College Bound

I can’t say that every parent goes through such heartache when their oldest child goes to college. But my oldest had his first day last Monday. And I truly thought that I was up for this. How wrong I was. You see he is still in high school. He’s a senior and he was accepted into a program that allows him to take a class or two in the local college. Miami University. Joey is taking two classes. French II and Comparative Religion. Yes, he is super smart for his age. He always has been. He was born 6 weeks premature. And his dad and I have always worked hard with him so that he wasn’t behind mentally. His physical aspect was always harder to work on.  However you wouldn’t know it now by looking at him now. So I get up bright and early, had a cup of coffee, drove him into town and dropped him off. I was still ok with everything until I looked in the rear view mirror and saw him with the rest of the college kids and started screaming in my head,”Use the cross-walk!” On the lonely drive back to the house I kept telling myself that it’s just like he’s at work. This is not that hard. WRONG!!! Totally wrong!!! As I walked into the house I could see that my hubby was a little teary eyed. That was my excuse to go ahead and cry. Then visions of Joey being 3 full of life and thirsty for more, running throughout the house started to flood my mind. And the tears fell even faster. I knew when we had to move here that it wasn’t for my benefit but for the family. This doesn’t really give me any comfort in living here.  It just gives me something to remind myself for times like these. I thank God for a wonderful young man and for allowing this opportunity for him. It’s kind of pre course for when he actually has to go out-of-state for college. He hopes to get accepted at ORU. I know that God has his hand on him. I know that there are big things waiting for him. I know that I can no longer hold his hand. (Although I will always and forever want to)

One Response

  1. It is so hard to let them go away…I feel for you

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

