• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • February 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    26272829  

Changes Within The Family

Well, he went and did it, the little stinker.  Joey got admitted into ORU.  Not only will he be attending there this coming fall.  He also got their presidential scholarship!  So we are now looking into every aspect of stuff that he will need for the up-coming years.  We had, a few months back changed churches, I will not go into the details as to why.  When our former church  heard of Joey’s great news, they had asked us to attend a Sunday service so that they could announce the news to the congregation.  They were all so very supportive and kind to him.

Sierra is still going strong in learning how to play her guitar.  She is also showing great promise in thinking things through.  So many times she has been coming home and telling me of the behavior of other kids in her school and how she is seeing that they are making wrong choices.  Some examples are the way some dress, those that do dip (yes, even some of the girls around here do dip. GROSS!), who is hanging out with who, and the gossip that goes on.  And how in doing so they are making her think as to if she would do or act the same way. I thank God her answer has been NO.

Then we can look at Wil.  I don’t think I have talked about him nearly as much as I would like.  I call him Joe Jr.  He has the almost exact same attitude as his daddio. Well recently he has been sending out e-mails of the writing he has been doing.  I love it.  He is using his creativity, which he has a lot of.  Plus he is relating more to the word.  I asked his permission to share with you just what I mean.  Here is just a little of his writing.  Keep in mind that he is only 12.  Nor have I added or changed anything of his writing.

Title: Endure it all.    We need to keep up our strength in tough times. I don’t know exactly what you are going through, but I know that there’s a way. God can help us through all of our problems. In the Bible, almost everybody goes through some kind of misery or misfortune. Yet God helps them through it.

We all have problems whether we like to admit it or not. We all go through some kind of problems. A man in the Bible went by the name of Jabez, meaning ‘he who causes pain’. He was marked from childbirth. Can you imagine what people must have thought? “Hey He Who Causes Pain! Let’s go play football!” All he did was asked for the Lord to help him prosper. And God did.
All of our problems trace back to the curse of Adam and Eve with Satan as the main conspirator. Its hard imagine life without faults. We have lived with these problems for so long, they seem natural. But heaven has no sin, no problems, no worries. That seems to good to be true, and on Earth, it would be without God. But He loves us and without him, nothing at all would’ve happened at all. Nothing would have been made, and we wouldn’t have been even in spirit. This is even harder to imagine, as we think with our minds, not our spirits. We need to be calm in times of restlessness, cheerful in times of doubt, and most of all God-like in all our life.

Isn’t that just great?!?  I feel so blessed that God is working on and in him.  The hubby just went to the neurologist for a check up on his MS.  So far so good.  He will be going back in March.  These visits are always a little stressful.  You wonder what the results will be.  Whether or not the Dr. is actually hearing you. What the next course of action(if any) will be.  How the hubby will handle any news.  How I will handle any news.

Then we come to our little man, Sam, who is 9.  He is struggling.  He knows right from wrong, but lately he has been giving in to laziness and bad attitude.  Especially in school.  I pray for him a lot.  I have the faith that he will snap out of it and get in line with God soon.  He is like his oldest brother as to being soooo smart, but he doesn’t quite get it yet that he is still a kid that has to follow rules and behaviors in order to get along with others. I know some adults that still haven’t learned this lesson either. So for the time being we will have to be just a little harder on him.  Which breaks my heart.  But I know that this too shall pass.

I have been learning.  Learning more about my children, my husband, and about myself.  After seeing the movie, I went out and got the book Courageous  for Women.  There is a wealth of wisdom in it. It has caused me to ask a lot of question of myself. (Hubby says that I am already too hard on myself and probably thinks that I don’t need to ask these questions.)   I am re-learning how to take time for myself.  So that I am not so stressed about stuff that I shouldn’t be.   I have also been learning a few new(to me) crochet stitches.  I have been crocheting since I was a kid and it is something that I really enjoy.  During the fall I learned how to crochet beaded bracelets but now I am back to yarn.  I have done blankets for each of my kids.  And they actually want to use them.  Which makes a big smile for me.  I love that I have a hobby and I think it does me a lot of good.  I can listen to a book or sermon while I crochet, or go over the days events, listen to God speaking to me, and yes I even get to pray during this time.  So I am able to keep busy inside and out.  Changes come to all of us.  Whether good or bad; like it or not.  But if we are able to step back and take a look at them we just might be able to see where we need to ask for strength, patience, and understanding.  You might be able to see that there are more than just one road ahead of you to choose from.  You might be able to see where the first spark of enlightenment or mistake came from.  You might be able to embrace the change.  The wisdom of a 12 yr. old may surprise you sometimes.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

