• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • March 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Broken Tools

I have said it time and time again.  My kids teachers are tools to help them learn.  Well after Tuesday, we once again found out that they were doing something behind our backs all the while double talking so to make it sound as if they only have little man’s best interest.  We had our second conference of the year last Tuesday.  Hubby made sure to be home so that I would have one, a witness, and two, backup, plus he keeps me more grounded, so that I don’t go off on them and say something that I shouldn’t.

During the conference, we were told that they had him sign a contract! A CONTRACT!!! In this contract it states that he will punished if he acts out.  Then they have a list of things that they do not want him to do.  However there is no list of the kind of punishment he would have to receive.  Only that the principle would decide on what it would be.  The principle, the teachers, and Sam all signed it.  Ok, look, he is only 9 and will soon be turning 10 towards the end of this month.  And when I expressed to the principal that I didn’t like the contract, her response was, well let’s not call it that (Even though it is typed clearly at the top of the page.)  So then I said again that I didn’t want him held to it.  She started double talking again about how this is to make sure that he understands what he was not allowed to behave like.  Now don’t get me wrong.  I don’t want him misbehaving either.  And it appears  to us that the only place he does is school.  He is not acting the way they describe at home, church, scouts, or other peoples houses.  They claim that he cries, yells, pushes his chair, makes disturbances in and out of the classroom.  However, have we received any notices as to his behavior.  NO!!!  Not one phone call, not one e-mail, not one note sent home.  NOTHING.  No, they want to ambush us at the conference and make it seem as if we, his parents, don’t care or aren’t doing anything to help him.  Well, we can’t do anything if we don’t know.  I ask him how his day was and he says fine.  We talk at dinner about the things that happen at school and not once has he said that anything was wrong.  No I get to hear about his teacher’s personal life outside of school.  Her husband, kids, family. How she sits on the side of the classroom so that the student teacher can teach.  Or how she wasn’t even in class because she has soooo many meetings to go to. Oh, and about how she kept taking her shoes off because they were new and hurt her feet.  All of these things should be kept out of the classroom.  I’m not loving how the teacher we were told was going to teach our son isn’t even the one doing it but she gets the credit for her school and school district.  Hubby called the next day and told the principle that once again we did not want him held to the contract.  She told him that she would tear it up.  But seriously it’s not enough for us.  This kind of behavior from the school has been going on for the last two years.  And I have had enough!

So after a lot of research and talking, the hubby and I have decided to home school him with an online school.  I hope and pray that this will be the end of the school problems…. but I doubt it.  When I went to get his school records, not one person asked me who I was or made me sign anything.  Again I could have been anyone!!  I just keep telling myself that there are just a few more months left.  I may do a happy dance….. oh wait,…. I think I have already started.

2 Responses

  1. Good for you and good luck. I have several friends who homeschool and their children are great kids.

    Donna
    http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

  2. Hello Donna, Thank you so much for stopping by! And thank you for freely giving your support. It was quite a pick me up.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

