• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • April 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Yes, Things Can Get Worse!

Hello loved ones.  Well for those of you who did not read my Facebook post, the news around here is that Joe may have Both MS and Parkinson’s.  Joe has gone through years of different tests; being poked and prodded.  Driving back and forth from Ohio to Indiana, whether he felt like it or not.  And so, about two weeks ago he went in for another check-up with his neurologist.

The visit went about as usual with the (what Joe calls) stupid human tricks.  Walk to the door and back.  Touch my finger and then your nose.  Then the conversation went to the convention that the doc. had attended just the week before where he had discussed Joe’s case with another colleague.  You see, Joe’s doc. has never been happy with his diagnoses.  Even with all the tests pointing to (at least as much as you can get) definitely MS.  But after talking to this other doctor, he is more willing to think that Joe has Parkinson’s as well.  This is very unusual.  Not unheard of, but unusual.  Generally people have one or the other but not both.  No one in the family wants to believe it.  I am having a hard time getting the kids prepared in case he says without a doubt that it’s both.  As odd as it may sound, I’m use to the MS; I know what to expect, what can happen, what has already happened.  This Parkinson’s, I don’t want anything to do with.  I don’t want Joe to have to endure any more than he has already.  I don’t want the kids getting sadder and having the feeling of helplessness because daddio is even sicker.  Around here, we all try our best to laugh off the effects of MS.  Joe calls it monkey stuff rather than Multiple Sclerosis.  Monkeys do stupid things.  So when something happens, like Joe feeling like crap for no other reason than having the disease we say it’s just his monkey stuff.  I think it helps keep the kids at somewhat of a distance of the seriousness of it all.

Now I get the lovely task of looking into this new disease and finding all I can so that I can help the family cope.  I know, I know, I know, God doesn’t give us anything unless we are able to handle it.  He wouldn’t give us more than we could chew.  However, right here and now, I am mad.  I don’t understand.  I feel helpless.  I wish I could take it all from him.  I have told everyone I know just how wonderful of a man Joe is.  And right now, it is very hard to fight back the tears in thinking about just what a blessing he is to and for me and the kids.  I want to scream……. IT’S NOT FAIR!!!!!  HE DOESN’T DESERVE THIS!!!!  I will not allow this or anything else tear me away from what matters.  I know that I have to stand strong for everyone, including myself.  I know that I can’t stand without the love of God.  I know that he will hold me during these times that I feel weak.

One Response

  1. no it is not fair!!! I send prayers and place my hand in yours. Thank you for linking up to the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. xo

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

