• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Pick A Side, Any Side

I am sure that by now everyone has heard about the controversy dealing with Chick-fil-A.  If not, here you go.  http://www.christianpost.com/news/chick-fil-a-flap-flips-to-frat-food-fight-78843/  I happen to agree with Dan Cathy.  I am also very proud of him as a Christian for standing up for what he morally believes in.  It’s hard to hear “regular everyday church going” Christians doing that.  Everyone is so afraid that they are going to offend someone that they don’t even care that they are offending God when they don’t express their own belief in Him.

Now I happen to have found out about all of this through facebook, since I liked both the Christian Post and Chick-fil-A.  When I first read the article, I got quite upset that people were right off the bat, angry with Chick-fil-A, angry with other people comments.  People started calling names, threats came in droves and a call for a boycott was placed.  I do not understand how it is that a country who claims that it is a melting pot for all can attack people just for saying what they believe in, even if it goes against what they believe in.

When I had heard of JC Pennys going “gay” in their ads, I stopped shopping there.  I did my own boycott.  The reason is because they are promoting something that I do not want associated in my or my family’s life.  And the only people until now that I told was my family.  I didn’t slam them on fb, twitter, or even here on my site.  I don’t need to.  I am doing what I feel is right on my moral beliefs.  I do not dis-associate with homosexuals just because they are homosexual.  I do not call them names or verbally or physically attack them.  No, I do try to set a Biblical example not only for them but for my family as well.  Because aside from praying for them, that is all I can do.  The people who were making their comments against CFA, did not only attack Dan Cathy but they felt the need to attack all Christians with comments like:

“Do you people even know any facts? Fact: they fund hate groups that are listed on the same list with the Klu Klux Klan. Fact: they lied about pulling their muppet toys because of defects. Fact: they made up some fake supporter and got busted. So they discriminate, fund hate, lie, and deceive. I guess they are typical Christians.”    “Of course it does Xeelee. That makes it easier to choose and pick which “sins” are acceptable. It must really be convenient when your God hates all the same people you do” Just for a few.  And for every attack there were counter attacks like:

“Name calling good. Then I am called the hater for being a Christian. I am going have a Chicken Sandwich with my WIFE and biological children. I won’t even have to worry about a gay man trying to sodomize me or pedophile my son or daughter.”   ” When a man voices his view supporting traditional family values in a Christian magazine, in no way being offensive, not only is he entitled to freedom of speech, but the gay activists go on sites like that just to find things to make issues. Clearly this was the case. They support “traditional” families. That would also they exclude single parents, co-cohabiting straight couples (with or without kids), and non-legal married couples (including illegal immigrants).

Eat more chicken! If you are a Christian and buy into this stupid boycott, take the time to ask yourself if you aren’t being deceived. You aren’t hating gay people by saying that you believe marriage should be set apart for men and women. I love gay people. The fight has become not an issue of marriage equality but to bring down the institution of marriage all together.”

Many other companies are now getting involved one way or another.  There will be those who believe in God and there will be those who do not believe in God.  I wonder if Dan Cathy was a muslin and made a statement about that belief if the outcome would have been the same.  There truly is no need for name calling or threats.  If you don’t agree with Dan Cathy fine. If you do fine.  Just be careful as to who it is that you feel the need to attack no matter which side you are on.  One never knows when, if ever they might need said person for something important like organ/blood transplant, or if a disaster hit your  home and you need to stay at their house.

One Response

  1. I thank you for shedding additional light on this subject. I agree with you, even if you do not agree with Mr. Cathy, you can stand up for his right to free speech. At no time did the man say mean or nasty things – hate talk – about those who disagree with his beliefs. Great post!

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

