• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Is It Any Of Your Business?

My oldest sent me a video of a comic who was talking about how Christians aren’t suppose to curse.  I found the video somewhat funny, but I also got the thoughts out of it as to how fingers are pointed at Christians if and when we mess up.  In the heat of a moment, whether it be a physical pain, or an emotional one, when you’re hit right out of the blue, we “Christians” have cursed.  I get after my kids all the time for this.  My kids don’t use the ordinary curse words.  As a matter of fact, my daughter used to say “tartar sauce” when she was younger, for something that she didn’t like.  She knew that cursing was wrong so she “used her words”.  At the time, we allowed her to do so.  We had the mind-set that she had found a way around cursing and the way she would say it, was kind of cute.  However today, we understand that what stands behind any word that is spoken is where the power of any cursing is at.  So that now when we hear that which is behind the words that are against the good of God, we will tell them to stop cursing.  Then we have to explain to them, well at least the younger ones, that they are cursing.

Then later in the week I was speaking to one of my neighbors and he was explaining to me how another neighbor told him that because he is a “Christian” that he couldn’t get mad at him for anything he may have done to him.  Seriously!!!  Christians are not allowed to get mad?!?  Give me a break.  We are all human.  And as such we all have the same emotions.  I will say that as a Christian, I do try to keep control of my emotions.  I do so so that they don’t control me.  However, there are times when everyone get mad, sad, upset, depressed, happy, joyful, and overwhelmed.

When I was young, my mom use to tell me all the time, (and now I tell my own kids) to mind my business and not the business of others.  My kids have a (bad) habit of helping when it isn’t asked for.  They see something that needs done and then they take over and do it.  The person who was to do it in the first place then gets upset and complains.  I have to remind them that one should not help unless they are asked to help.  My kids have come home from school and given me detailed info on a friend or a classmate that is not what we would call “good news”.  And their opinion about the situation then follows.  I listen because I don’t want them to think that I don’t care about them (the child talking).  But then, I have to ask them, what business is it of yours?  Usually the answer is none.  As Christians we are to tell of the gospel and lead people to Christ.  That is our business.  But to criticize others for the business of their own is not ours to do.  We are to stay away from the worldly ways.  And that is of the world.

I have found, as a general rule, that people like to think that they know better than another.  People have opinions about everything and a lot of them think that they have the “right” to express them to the ones that they feel are doing things wrong.  If we Christians, would only look on the business of God, then we would be keeping in our own business.  Stop looking into the business of the world.  Live your life in your business.  Express the love of God.  So that the world will then come and ask you for the help that they need.

One Response

  1. Hi sister,

    I started blogging again: http://pastorgilsblog.wordpress.com/

    Let’s connect again.

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Traveler | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

