• Follow me

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

How Much Are You Growing?

The national average for women in height is 5’3.8”.  I am a rather “short” person by the national average.  I stand around 5’1”.  For me this is normal.  Being short that is.  I have always been short.  While I grew up, I got picked on all the time because of being so short, among other reasons.  At first, my parents told me that the “real” reason for being picked on was because I was so pretty that they were jealous of me.  Then after I had gotten a little older, they starting saying it was because I was so “smart”.   After hearing not only my parents, but also other relatives say the same, I started believing it completely. And I had the grades to prove it.  I became very strong in self-confidences.  I would read every chance I could get.  I still would rather read than do anything else.  However, it did make me a little less social.  I was for the longest time the oldest child on the entire block.  I did not enjoy playing with kids younger than me.  So, I would find a hiding place with a book and just read.  I would get so lost in the stories that I read.  I love to place myself in the stories, as if I were one of the actual characters.  I would then keep that person in mind as I went about my day.  “Pretending” as if I am really them.  I still do this while I read.  Instead of being every character in any old book, I just choose one.  The Bible.  I stand right there next to Jesus, one of the prophets, or one that Jesus spoke healing to, as if I’m actually there, but they just don’t see me.  Then my mind goes into what it must have been like or how someone felt when he or she was healed.  I know weird, right?!?  Well, yes and no.  Because when I am done reading, I feel as if I have grown ten feet.  I could reach heaven if I chose to.  I feel electric.  Like a shot in the dark.  My dad is an electric mobile operator, so I learned about electric from a young age. I love going out and watching thunderstorms.  Respect electricity!  The feeling lasts as long as I keep reading the Bible.  The more that I place myself into the Bible the more real it appears to me.  The more His word grows in me.

The Bible talks about growing throughout the books.

My favorite 3 are these;  2 Thessalonians  1:3  We are bound to thank God always for you, brethren, as it is meet, because that your faith groweth exceedingly, and the charity of everyone of you all toward each other aboundeth;

1 Peter 2:2 As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby:

2 Peter 3: 18 But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.  To him be glory both now and forever.  Amen.

Now that I am a mom, I have to make sure that my children grow in every way to prosper themselves.  All four of our kids have started out small.  Below the national average.  However, unlike me, they seem to start sprouting up between 12 and up.  I thought my oldest (who was born a preemie) was never going to get there.  Boy was I wrong.  He just turned 18, and he is still growing.  I love it!  I also get to see the kids grow spirituality.  No longer, the Bible stories told to little’s.  They each have their own questions as to who, what, where, and why things or people happened a certain way.  Their own words in their prayers, their own concerns for the world, their selves, their family.   Jesus said, that if anyone who thirst, to come to him, Isaiah 55: 1.  So many people think that it is ok to starve themselves, or that they only need a little splurge here and there.  Instead of realizing that if, they would only go to him as soon as they felt hungry, that they would never hunger again.  He feeds you and will continue to feed you until you’re fuller than you have ever felt in your life.  I love to eat.  Steak happens to be my favorite.  But I can find myself gorging on the word of God all the time.  I can’t get enough.  We are given 66 books that you can read and reread throughout your lifetime and still never get all that God has to say to you.

Grow, children of God!  Grow!

Leave a Reply

Humor The Madman

A slightly mad aspiring writer desperate to keep his writing going.

No Longer Oxford

CHRISTIAN THOUGHTS FOR THE MASSES

My Life. One Story at a Time.

Writer | Book Reviewer | The Southern Planner | Organizer | Travel | Technology

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Original Oxford Comma

Unnecessary, yet Advocated

David Divine Brooks

The Gothic Poet and other writings,poetry ,art and prose

Joyce de Vivre

Hop to happiness

through Him with Him in Him...

the journey of the heart in the beauty of becoming...

a time and a season

faith, literature, talk

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

My Life, My Perspective

Thoughts Of this Redhead Guided By God

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

